Community living

We just went into lockdown for 21 days, days before lockdown I obtained 2 new housemates (and another one to join in a few weeks), I have decided to make a pros & cons list** of living with people who aren’t family (family is a whole different pressure cooker of fish, a post for a different day, I think)

Pros

Company
During this social distancing and lockdown period company is probably the best thing. Especially for my particular brand of extrovert.

The longest I can go without seeing another human being or speaking to one is a 2 day weekend… I am purposefully not saying 48 hours because that is a lie as well. These current memes are on point…

We really don’t

Shared workload
Look, tidying or cleaning a 5 bedroom house by yohself is no joke. It takes long, it’s tedious and you end up doing only the dishes and tidying the kitchen and the bathroom.

Having more people means more hands, means lighter load.

Different meals (Also see cons)
Having more people in the house also means we take turns cooking (or that’s the intention). I am looking forward to not having to cook each night (I still enjoy cooking and I intend to keep it that way).

Freedom
… to go housesit or sleep over at a friend (yes, adults still do sleepovers) or party till 4am. When you have pets you can’t just up and leave, BUT if you have pets AND live with other people, that sorts out the problem of animals being fed and not being alone at night.

Saving
Can you say CARPOOL? I freakin hope so, I mean you are reading this and if you are reading this you should be able to say what you read… basic early childhood development stuff. (I assume)

Yes, carpool. Carpool means saving on fuel costs and at a time where a litre of fuel costs more than a loaf of bread… you have to try and save as much as possible.

Cons

Different meals (Also see pros)
Living with 2 guys… so I am not exactly sure what to expect apart from a bowl of 2min noodles or some egg on toast. But, food is food. This is not a sexist statement… it is a factual statement based on what I know of these guys. So don’t @ me. The one guy is a typical bachelor who barely cooks for himself, the other is fresh out of school and his mom’s house. I know what to expect (hey, I am more than okay with being surprised)

People… ALWAYS
Even extroverts need some no-people time. Living with other people means that does not happen unless either you or they stay in the room the whole time. Thankfully this is a big house.

Different habits
Doesn’t matter who you are sometimes someone’s odd habit will irritate the crap out of you. You know people have different habits but that doesn’t make them leaving every light in the house on while they sit outside, easier to handle. Let’s be honest, it’s not difficult to handle either, if it is something like leaving lights on, then speak to the person. If it is dropping a nuclear bomb in the bathroom… well maybe learn what their bowel schedule is so you can time it.

No naked Thursdays

Yeaaaahhhh…

** This is not an exhaustive list nor is it set in stone and is subject to change as the tides change, as the moon changes and as the mood changes… after all I am a woman!

3 thoughts on “Community living

  1. Pingback: The Lockdown Challenge | lukraakvars

Speak to me!!!!